Sharing

My approach to this course has not been as dynamic or fast moving as I have wanted it to be. There have been many times when I have considered giving up.

I have been reflecting and wondering and pondering over why it is hat I can’t seem to give my creative making the same value I can give in other areas of my life.

Is it because I’m a fake? Is it because I am ‘going against the grain’, so to speak?

I  am aware that some of this is a vicious cycle: I need to turn up and make, the more I do this the more I’ll put value on what I’m doing and therefore the more I’ll turn up and make, the more inspired I’ll get.

I am finding the making path a lonely one and have come to realise that I crave mentoring and more dialogue around my work. More sharing. The blog is obviously a great platform for some of this to happen. But this sometimes feels like I’m writing and putting it out into space!

So how do I move on from here?

I need to find ways and people to talk to about my work in progress more. By giving it airspace, time and energy, it gives it the value- the nourishment it needs for it to grow….

4 thoughts on “Sharing

  1. Hi Jess, I think your words express how a lot of us feel about this course. I love that I’m doing it, but so often feel as if I’m working in a bubble. I lose focus constantly, and am easily distracted. I’ve managed to meet up with a few other students in my area, which is great for sharing how we feel. But I do feel that without mentoring it’s a particularly hard path we’ve chosen. Self-motivation has never been my strong point, and I constantly doubt myself. I’m thinking of joining a local stitching group, just to give me contact with other creative people on a regular basis. Keep going … I’m sure things will get easier.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou Jasia. I have been so impressed by your creative output, energy and quality of your work so it’s surprising to hear that you have found it a challenge to keep focussed too! Here’s to being determined!!

      Like

  2. Hi Jess I have struggled too. I live in Australia. I have been so happy to get feedback on a blog post and that has helped motivate me. Just to know I am part of a student body I think. Keep going it is such an interesting course.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

