1.3: Making Marks

I thought I would enjoy this exercise. I did enjoy exploring mark making and thinking about the qualities of the blankets. I did come up with some lists in my sketchbook:

Texture, weight, structure, damage, sturdiness, rough, practical, warm, heavy, old, pattern, itchy, thick, weighty, strong, repetition, old, bobbled, fraying, geometric, intense,  weave, handmade, worn, full, enveloping, functional, wrapping, useful, woollen, cotton, linear.

I used a number or tools: toothbrush, sandpaper, roller, scourer, credit card, palette knife, corrugated card, cling film, a bottle cork…

What I found challenging is to interpret the items with these marks. I did create one piece that I thought was successful in capturing some of the linear, strong and weighty qualities:

IMG_2782
Using cork, credit card, palette knife and acrylic

I also experimented with some printmaking techniques, for instance making collagraphs of inked up muslin to reflect the weave, heaviness, intense and full qualities that I had noted in my list, along with the woven elements to the fabric:

IMG_2794

Leave a Reply

