Drawings

I am still working out the best way to use the blog as a learning log. Really, I think it would have been more practical and useful if I had photographed my drawings as I went along, and reflected and annotated them in intervals, or hand written some notes on the drawings, which is what I naturally would have done if I wasn’t going to keep an online log too.

I think I will do my best to organise them thematically, grouping them in terms of the materials and techniques used: A range of pencils, graphite stick, fine liner, ink, charcoal, and conte pastel, mainly on cartridge paper and some tracing and tissue paper.

The first set are of the drawings I made with pencils. I tended to use a range, mainly 2B, 4B and 6B. I tended to use A3 and A2 paper for these.

IMG_2398
Outline of the patterns on the lamp in pencil and a little graphite shading
IMG_2399
Quick pencil studies of the little knitted bootie
IMG_2400
Two pencils together (B and 2B)
IMG_2401
Two pencils together (B and 2B)
IMG_2403
Tonal and shade study
IMG_2413
A study of some of my objects focussing on line, shape, and some texture using F, 2B, 4B and 6B pencil
IMG_2416
Original pencil and carbon paper tracing. I had never used carbon in this way before but found some in a draw. I was impressed with how different the reproduction looked, and thought it was even more successful than the pencil drawing in reflecting the qualities of an Iced Landscape.

I also used ink, fine liner pen, a brush and a quill type nib, which the following drawings show. I found I could create interesting contrasts and textures in this way and particularly enjoyed this way of working.

I used charcoal and conte, which I found I was least successful at, although after looking at the artists (see previous post), I was inspired to have another go, this time mixing my media and using both charcoal, conte and pen and ink.

I felt these made much more interesting drawings as I was able to add detail to the tonal qualities which the charcoal and conte produced.

IMG_2409
Charcoal, conte, pen and ink
IMG_2410
Close up

 

My last group are drawings made on tracing and tissue papers. I either traced them, especially when wanting to create a repeat pattern for instance, created rubbings, or I used these papers for their own qualities, which I found were appropriate for the Iced Landscape theme. They reflected the contrast textures between the  hard/crinkly, crunchy snow and the fragility of thin ice.

Leave a Reply

