Inspired by artists

 

Part of the introductory assignment requires me to investigate other artists. I actually looked at them all a while back and they did inspire my working methods, however I have not written up any notes about them until now!

First up is:

Louise Bourgeois

I have long admired her work, so enjoyed looking through the archive. She works with intimacy and has a sensitivity to her mark making. I love the way she manages to approach her subjects with a sense of humour in some of her lines and marks, even if the themes often deal with strong emotive feelings and struggles. She uses line and tone and a variety of marks that make her work personal. She goes beyond  describing something. There is strength and vigour in her marks. I love her drawings and prints. She investigates an idea with a range of different marks. Looking at her work gave me the confidence to work more freely, and to consider using a combination of strong outlines and tone.

Alison Carlier is a very different artist. I found it hard to engage with , maybe because I ad to take the time to listen to a lot of the ‘drawings’. I was also quick to judge it as being typically post modern! But actually, it was challenging me, and on reading some of the transcripts of “The Drawing Attitude“, it made me think and consider what drawing really is about for different artists. One of the points that I resonated with and that is discussed is the concept of thinking through drawing. I think this is so true!

Next is Alex Chalmers with whom I found similarities to Louise Bourgeois’ work since he also seems to investigate on one subject in a variety of ways. I was immediately attracted to his Drawings 2014/15. They made me think of maps. His mark making really inspired me to create a variety of marks. I would describe them as textured and graphic at the same time.

Hilary Ellis

Wow! I read her artists statement first, and immediately connected with her personal interest in surface and repetition, and an interest in the relationship between order and chaos. I would like to see her artworks  in the flesh so to speak, to get a sense of their size and texture. One of her pieces is called ‘Lost in Lace’, which I found interesting to look at, as one of my chosen pieces is some lace knickers, which I have found really challenging to draw!

Rather than looking through all his work, I focussed on Michael Griffiths’ drawings, his use of charcoal, oil pastel and pencil in a very gestured way also gave me the confidence to create mixed media drawings using pen/pencil/pastel and charcoal.

Debbie Smyth works with threads, drawing with thread. By creating outlines made up of lots of threads makes her work both strong and fragile. I found that it created a sense of movement, more so than if she had drawn with pencil or pen perhaps?

I found similarities between the work that Katie Sollohub creates and the drawings I looked at by Michael Griffith. They both seem to work intuitively, their marks and gestures have a liveliness. The way Katie manages to use charcoal to create a range of marks and textures make me interested in using it more when I draw.

I really like looking through Roanna Wells’ artworks. They seem very calm. I liked her sense of scale too, and painting directly on walls. Her muted colour palette

I was so pleased to be introduced to these artists, finding their work exciting and admired how much of it required dedication and persistence. It emphasises how the scale of an artwork can influence how ‘strong’ it is. I do feel that I have only touched the surface and skimmed over many of these artists. I think I was so concerned with getting the practical work done I didn’t spend as long in my investigations. I would actually like to look into them further.

 

Leave a Reply

